Support Program for Secondary School Student Athletes -
Fostering Different Levels of Academic and Athletic Development



About Us - The Program


In efforts of developing a sustainable support program for student athletes in secondary schools who are developing a dual career with their academic and athletic endeavors, we are proud to undertake this project with the support of the Knowledge Transfer Project Fund from the University. This support program is co-organized by the Department of Sports Science and Physical Education, the Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology, and the Physical Education Unit of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and we believe the program will have a profound impact on student athletes.

Research has found that student athletes require support in sports psychology, sports physiology, sports biomechanics, physical fitness (training and conditioning), sports nutrition, and sports taping. These supports are especially important to those who do not receive official support from the Government. This program will feature talks, seminars, and workshops on topics that are important to the participants’ academic and athletic development, experience sharing from CUHK sport scholars, and talks to parents and PE teachers about their students’ dual career development. This website will also serve as a hub of information for everyone who is interested.

The project team believes that the launch of the support program for secondary school student athletes can help fill the gap between sports participation and student career development. We also envisage that the sporting culture will change with the provision of meaningful support to different levels of student athletes, particularly those involved in non-focus sports. Through providing the support program, student athletes become more confident and knowledgeable, and are better equipped to focus on their academic and athletic development. Student athletes may have the chance to compete at higher levels and bring more glory to Hong Kong.

中學生運動員支援計劃 -
培育學業與運動間相互水平的發展



關於我們 – 計劃簡介


「中學生運動員支援計劃」由香港中文大學體育運動科學系、矯型外科及創傷學系、及體育部合辦,旨在發展一個具持續性的支援計劃給予在學業及運動上作雙線發展的中學生運動員。我們很榮幸得到大學知識轉移基金的支持,並相信本計劃會對參與的學生運動員有深遠的影響。

研究指出學生運動員必須在運動心理學、運動生理學、運動生物力學、體適能訓練、運動營養學、及運動貼布法等多方面獲得支援。這些支援對未受政府資助的運動員尤為重要。是次計劃將會舉辦多次講座、研習班、及工作坊,主題圍繞與參加者息息相關的學業及運動課題。計劃亦會邀請三十多名就讀本校的獎學金運動員進入中學校園,跟同學分享各自在中學期間如何平衡學業和運動的經驗。計劃亦包括給予老師和家長的講座,讓成年持分者更清楚學生運動員在成長中面對的挑戰和機遇。本網頁亦會成為有關課題的資料庫,以供有興趣人士查閱。

我們相信這個支援計劃能有效地幫助中學生運動員在學業和運動間作出取捨和平衡。我們亦期望本港的體育運動文化會因為有更多對中學生運動員的支援,特別是對非精英體育項目的學生運動員的支援,而衍生正面的影響。期望中學生運動員能透過參與本計劃對自己往後的發展有更多見解及更有自信,從而裝備好自己去應對日後該走的路,更期盼中學生運動員能夠有機會在高水平的國際賽事中為港爭光。